Burns Law Group, PC
Contact 770-628-1131
GET A FREE Consultation
View Practice Areas

Aggravated and simple battery laws in Georgia

A loud argument can give way to a shoving match, which can lead to a physical altercation and the arrival of the police. And if you were believed to have thrown a punch or two, a minor dust-up can become a legal nightmare.

Incidents of physical contact can result in battery charges. According to Georgia law, there are two classes of battery charges; simple and aggravated. And while it is sometimes hard to determine in which classification a particular act should fall, the difference regarding penalties can be profound.

You could be issued a simple battery charge due to deliberately causing someone physical harm. Simple battery is a misdemeanor, and the maximum penalties include no more than a year in prison or a $1,000 fine.

On the other hand, aggravated battery involves inflicting a serious injury, such as the loss of a limb or physical disfigurement. Aggravated battery is a felony, for which you could spend up to 20 years in prison along with having to pay restitution and fines.

So, it can make all the difference in the world whether you are charged with simple or aggravated battery. And there are variables that should be taken into account, such as the true severity of the injuries caused and if you were acting in self-defense when the injuries occurred.

Given the potential severity of punishment associated with an aggravated battery conviction, it is in your best interests to solicit the aid of an experienced criminal defense attorney. In particular, you may want to find an attorney who has established relationships with the local criminal justice system and who can work in an effort to successfully navigate you to your best possible outcome. Depending on the evidence and other aspects of your case, you may be able to have the charges reduced or even dropped.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us Today

How Can We Help You?

Choosing an attorney to represent you is a big decision. Give us a call today if you would like to talk to us about your problems and learn how we can help. We offer initial legal consultations free of charge. Call 770-628-1131 or complete this form to reach one of our lawyers in Canton today for your free, no-obligation consultation.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Burns Law Group, PC
181 E. Main Street
Canton, GA 30114

Phone: 770-628-1131
Fax: 770-956-1404
Map & Directions

Map & Direction

Connect With Us