Criminal Defense Topics
Georgia Assault Laws
in Georgia, the term "assault charges" refers to an action that is done to intimidate, coerce or otherwise convey violence, but that does not include physical contact.
Assault vs. Battery
In a legal definition, the term "assault" applies when an individual acts to convey that causes another person to have reasonable belief that physical harm (battery) is imminent. The term "battery" applies when an individual causes bodily harm to another person.
In Georgia, simple assault is a misdemeanor charge. It is punishable by up to 1 year in jail and up to a $1,000 fine. The level of fines could be as much as $5,000 if the assault is deemed to be of a "high and aggravated nature". Aggravated assault generally applies to a situation where the assault included the intention to rape, rob, or otherwise physically harm someone.
In Georgia, aggravated assault is a felony charge. It is punishable by up to 20 years in prison and fines.
Aggravated most often applies to situations that involved a weapon, or the act was committed against certain classes of people such as a senior citizen, pregnant woman, police officer, teacher, etc.
If you have been charged with simple assault or aggravated assault, you should contact a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. Our law firm can take prompt action to represent you with a vigorous defense against criminal charges. We invite you to call 770-956-1400 or contact us online and request a consultation.